Spoken languages Portuguese, Spanish and English

Immigration Law

Assistance with Immigration Services Including Visas & Green Cards

Special Immigrants

SIJS- Special Immigrant Juvenile Status

Special Immigrant Juvenile Status (SIJS) is a humanitarian immigration benefit in the United States aimed at protecting vulnerable immigrant children who have been abused, neglected, or abandoned by one or both parents. To qualify for SIJS, the child must meet certain criteria, including being under the age of 21, unmarried, and declared dependent on a juvenile court due to abuse, neglect, or abandonment. Once granted SIJS, the child can apply for lawful permanent residency (a green card) and eventually pursue citizenship. SIJS provides a pathway for vulnerable immigrant children to obtain legal status and protection in the United States.

VAWA- Violence Against Women Act

The Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) is a landmark piece of legislation in the United States aimed at combating domestic violence, sexual assault, stalking, and other forms of gender-based violence. Originally passed in 1994 and reauthorized several times since, VAWA provides funding for support services for victims, training for law enforcement and prosecutors, and legal protections for survivors.

One of the key provisions of VAWA is its focus on immigrant survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault. It includes provisions that allow certain immigrant victims to petition for legal status independently of their abusers, providing a pathway to safety and independence.

VAWA also enhances penalties for certain violent crimes against women and supports programs that aim to prevent domestic violence and sexual assault. Overall, VAWA has been instrumental in raising awareness about gender-based violence and providing resources and protections for survivors across the United States.

DACA – Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals

Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) is a policy in the United States that provides temporary relief from deportation and work authorization to certain undocumented immigrants who were brought to the country as children. Established in 2012 by the Obama administration, DACA allows eligible individuals, often referred to as Dreamers, to apply for renewable two-year periods of protection from deportation and work permits, enabling them to legally work and study in the U.S.

To qualify for DACA, applicants must meet specific criteria, including having arrived in the U.S. before the age of 16, continuously residing in the U.S. since June 15, 2007, and meeting educational or military service requirements. DACA does not provide a pathway to citizenship, but it offers temporary relief from deportation and the opportunity for lawful employment.

DACA has been a significant policy initiative, providing opportunities for hundreds of thousands of young immigrants to come out of the shadows, pursue higher education, and contribute to their communities and the economy. However, its future has been subject to legal and political challenges, with ongoing debates about its continuation and potential legislative solutions for Dreamers.

Request a Consultation

(781) 229-7900 Tel
(781) 229-0872 Fax

Follow Us